Book Review: Retribution

“…he realised that there are probably as many villains as heroes, wherever you look. And a very fine line between the two.”

“Retribution”, by Heaton Wilson

I’m delighted to join the Blog Tour of “Retribution” by Heaton Wilson. Many thanks to Rachel of Rachel’s Random Resources, and of course the author for organising the tour and gifting me a copy of the book.

“Retribution”, by Heaton Wilson is the third book in the author’s DCI Jane Birchfield series, and carries on where the previous instalment, “Whatever it Takes”, left off. The team are still dealing with the events of their previous case, and the last thing they want is to launch into a brand new murder investigation.

When a decorated ex-military hero is killed by a car, it’s put down as a hit-and-run accident. But not all of Jane’s team is convinced, and when a second ex-military victim is claimed, who just happens to be a friend of the first, the investigation starts to heat up.

Alongside the increasingly complex investigation, Jane is dealing with the aftermath of the previous case, doubts over her relationship, new team members, including a smarmy new Chief Superintendent, and the growing worry that she might be being overlooked for promotion. And as the case progresses, she needs to use all her detective instincts and the skills she’s gained from previous mentors if she’s to bring the culprit to justice.

I really enjoyed reading this great police procedural from an author who is brand new to me! The reader learns quite early on who is responsible for the killings, and I enjoyed following along as the team tried to piece together what had happened and why. Jane and the team are a great group of characters (I had a particular soft spot for wine-gum-loving DI George Creasey!), and it was great to see how they all worked together to crack the case. None of them are perfect, but each brought something different to play in the investigation. Sections of the book were also told from the murderer’s point of view, and it was interesting to think about the path that had led to their actions, and understand their justifications for their actions.

The story and the case are completed by the end of the novel, but I hope there’s more to come from the author in this series, so we can find out what happens next for Jane and the team!

Pages: 325
Published: 1st July 2021
Rating: 🐈🐈🐈/5

Purchase links:

About the author

I have been a newspaper journalist, a postman, a public relations officer, a consultant, an actor, a director, a playwright. And I have always kept writing.

I always felt I could write a novel. And I did! The first book in my crime fiction series featuring DCI Jane Birchfield, Every Reason, came out in 2016.  Whatever It Takes was published in 2021; and the third book (which follows on where Whatever It Takes ends) is nearing completion.

I’m from Manchester but now live on the Isle of Wight, where the sea is never far away. It’s the perfect place to be creative, and to walk the dogs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s